Simien & Simien, LLC

CALL US TOLL FREE

(800) 374-8422

Driver Requirements for Reporting Car Accidents in Louisiana

reporting-car-accidents-louisiana-blog.jpgAfter a car accident in Louisiana, you may be required to report the incident. Below, our attorneys discuss the state's accident reporting requirements and why filing an accident report is to your benefit.

If you were injured in a collision, you may be eligible for compensation for the damages you suffered. Request a free, no obligation consultation with our firm today to learn more about your rights.

Reporting Requirements

Louisiana has specific reporting requirements for those involved in a car accident anywhere in the state. There are certain situations that make reporting a legal requirement.

When You Need to File an Accident Report

Car accidents must be reported as quickly as possible to the local police station if the incident results in any of the following:

  • Injury
  • Death
  • More than $500 in property damage

Written reports are also required by the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections (DPSC) within a 24-hour period if the accident resulted in any of the following:

  • Injury
  • Death
  • More than $100 in property damage

If you fail to do so, you face a possible fine of up to $100 or up to 60 days' imprisonment, or both. Following the law and submitting the proper reports on time protects you from these possible penalties.

Why You Need to File an Accident Report

It is in your best interest to file an accident report after a collision. Not only may it be a legal obligation but doing so also creates an official document that can be used as evidence, if you have a case. Having an accident report can be helpful as you pursue a claim for compensation for your injuries and damages.

Determining the extent of vehicle damage or the severity of an injury at the scene of a car accident is difficult. If an injury or vehicle issue starts showing symptoms at a later date, you would have a record of the accident happening. An insurance company will also need to see an accident report for any claims.

How to File an Accident Report

After a car accident, use the quickest means of communication to notify the local police department. Typically this is done by phone and notifies the proper law enforcement agency that an accident has occurred within their jurisdiction. For accidents that take place outside of city or town limits, the accident should be reported to the nearest sheriff's or state police station.

Be sure to complete the Louisiana Accident Report form. You may submit your completed accident report form via email, or you may mail it to the DPSC.

The following information is required:

  • Name, address, and driver's license numbers of all drivers involved
  • Vehicle registration numbers and license plate numbers for any vehicles involved
  • Insurance information for all drivers involved
  • Details about the accident including weather conditions, road conditions, location, time of day and any other relevant information

Once the accident investigation is complete, the responding officer must forward his or her written report to the DPSC within 48 hours. Involved parties may request copies of the crash report, though a small fee may apply.

Contact an Experienced Lawyer Now

If you were injured in a car accident, our Baton Rouge car accident attorneys are ready to seek maximum compensation of your medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering.

Schedule a free, no obligation legal consultation today and learn what options may be available after your accident. There are no upfront fees, and payment is only due if we recover compensation for you.

Call (800) 374-8422 or complete our free online form now.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
FindLaw Network
EMAIL US FOR A RESPONSE

Free Case Evaluation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

If you are looking for a law firm that has knowledge and experience, you will find it with Simien & Simien, LLC.

Free Case Evaluation

OUR OFFICES

Baton Rouge
7908 Wrenwood Blvd
Baton Rouge, LA 70809

Toll Free: 800-374-8422
Phone: 225-224-2222
Fax: 225-932-9286
Map & Directions

Lake Charles
Capital One Tower
Suite 1270
One Lakeshore Dr.
Lake Charles, LA 70629

Toll Free: 800-374-8422
Phone: 337-436-2121
Map & Directions

New Iberia
424 West Main St
New Iberia, LA 70560

Toll Free: 800-374-8422
Phone: 337-551-4242
Map & Directions

Nationwide (800) 374-8422